Electronic Arts have confirmed that its future football games will be called EA Sports FC from 2023 onward, meaning FIFA 23 will be the final game from the EA and FIFA partnership. FIFA 23 will release this Fall, more details will be shared at a later date. Electronic Arts have also confirmed that EA Sports FC has the same game modes as FIFA and will feature over 300 licenses and more than 19,000+ players, 700+ teams, 100+ stadiums and 30 leagues.

Whilst no specific reason for the ending of the partnership was revealed a report last October from the New York Times claimed that FIFA was asking for $2.5 billion to renew the partnership. EA and FIFA first began their partnership in 1993, the 30-year spin-off has since produced one of the most lucrative video game franchises of all time.

More details about EA Sports FC will be revealed in July 2023.

Details via EA:

EA SPORTS FC brings the strength of more than 300 individual licensed partners, giving players access to more than 19,000 athletes across 700 teams, in 100 stadiums and over 30 leagues around the world. Through EA SPORTS FC, EA will further grow the reach and power of its football licensing portfolio by retaining and expanding the licensed football content, scaling to new experiences, and increasing access through more platforms. EA will also build on a foundation of inclusivity and innovate in new areas around both women’s and grassroots football for the global community.

The introduction of EA SPORTS FC will not impact any current EA SPORTS global football games, and EA and FIFA are excited to deliver the greatest, most expansive EA SPORTS™ FIFAever later this fall. Our final FIFAproduct will also include more game modes, features, teams, leagues, players, and competitions than any previous edition. Fans will be able to experience these innovations across the full EA SPORTS FIFA ecosystem including FIFA Mobile, FIFA Online 4, and eSports.

EA has developed the most extensive and comprehensive network of partnerships and licenses in the sport – all in the name of delivering a truly immersive experience to fans everywhere. EA SPORTS FC will be the only place fans can play in the iconic UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, CONMEBOL Libertadores, Premier League, Bundesliga, LaLiga, Serie A, and MLS, among many others. The breadth and depth of EA’s ecosystem of licensed content will enable it to offer unrivaled authenticity in EA SPORTS football games, now and for many years to come.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s